Salgaocar Football Club
Salgaocar Sports Club

The name of Salgaocar Sports Club occupies a pride of place in the annals of the history of football in India. Salgaocar Sports Club has distinguished itself in football right from 1956, when the club was founded to give a platform to the Goan youth to showcase their talent to the country, and the world.

Our Football Team was the first Goan team to participate in the prestigious Durand Football Tournament in New Delhi after Goa's liberation in 1961. The team was felicitated by late Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru at his residence. That was just the beginning of a long and triumphant history at the national level for the past forty years.

Players like Bruno Coutinho, Bramhanand Shankhwalkar went on to win the Arjuna award, the highest sports recognition in the country. Lawrence Gomes, Franky Baretto, Bento Andrew, Arnold Rodrigues, Roy Baretto, Derrick Pereirra, Savio Madeira, Candidio Abreu, Menino Figuereido are legends whose fame extends well beyond the sandy shores of Goa thus not only permanently engraving their names in the history of the club and the hearts of its fans, but also as top quality Indian players who earned laurels for the country.

In the long list of victories that Salgaocar Sports Club has won at the local and national levels, some stand out with a mark of distinction: Coca-Cola National League Winners in 1999
Runners up in National League in 2003
I-League winners 2011
Federation Cup Winners in 1988, 1989, 1997, 2011
Federation Cup Runners up in 1987, 1990 & 1993
Super Cup Winners in 1998 & 1999
Durand Cup Champions for 1999 & 2003
Rovers Cup Winners in 1989, 1996 & 1999
Rovers Cup Runners Up in 1985
TFA Shield 1978 & 1981
19 times Winners of Goa Football League (last 3 titles being 2009, 2006, 2004)
Governor's Cup Winners in 1999 ,2001 & 2009
Manchester United Premier Cup (U-15) India Winners 2009 &2011.

For the latest updates you may visit

Salgaocar Sports ClubSalgaocar Sports Club Youth Development System: At Salgaocar Sports Club, it is a firm belief that this football fanatical state of Goa, long celebrated for the countless talents it has produced for the Indian blue, has many a raw talent that just needs the right guidance and coaching inputs to carve a niche at the National stage. The club has gone about in the right earnest by investing considerably in a youth development programme aimed at nurturing youngsters and molding them into top quality players who will bring unspeakable pride to the club and the nation. With as many as 7 age-group teams from U-12 till U-20, there are around 200 'future stars' currently learning the art of being a successful footballer under the tutelage of the club's qualified team of coaches.

The staunch commitment to the Youth Program was greatly rewarded when the club's U-15 team won the Manchester United Premier Cup India finals in 2009, becoming the first Goan team to do so, thus qualifying for the World Finals to be played in Manchester. The club has been crowned champions of the Manchester United Premier Cup India again in 2011.