ISO 9001:2008 QMS / ISO-14001:2004
Certified Company.
Ore Excavation
Goa Marriot
Restaurant - Sweet-n-Sour
V.M. Salgaocar Hospital
V.M.S College of Law
Salgaocar Sports Club
V.M.Salgaocar College of Law receives Institutional Excellence Award-2011
CHIEF JUSTICE OF DELHI HIGH COURT, JUSTICE DEEPAK MISHRA presenting the Institutional Excellence Award 2011 to Shivanand V. Salgaocar, President Governing Council of the College

The Society of Indian Law Firms, an All India organization with membership of almost all the reputed law firms in India and the Menon Institute of Legal Advocacy and Training have their Annual Conference for law teachers on the eve of Teacher’s Day i.e. 4th September. At this function various awards are presented, including an award for the best law teacher in the country. Prof. P. K. Tripathi and Prof. S. P. Sathe have been the recipients of the awards in the past. This year Prof. A. T. Markose (Posthumous) and Prof. Ranbir Singh were the recipients in this category. Prof (Mrs) Shashikala Gurpur was conferred the Legal Education Innovation Award.

In addition, to encourage and recognize excellence in legal education and community services rendered by law colleges, an award for Institutional Excellence has been instituted. A panel of experts and senior lawyers under the Chairmanship of Retd. Justice J. S. Verma, Former Chief Justice of India was constituted to identify institutions having excellent track record and community service schemes for this prestigious award. The Award Committee thus identified “V. M. Salgaocar College of Law” for this ‘Institutional Excellence Award 2011’.

The President of the Governing Council of the College Mr. Shivanand V. Salgaocar was invited to receive the Award at the Law Teacher’s Award Function on Saturday, 10th September 2011. The Award and the citation were presented by Chief Justice of Delhi High Court Hon’ble Mr. Justice Deepak Mishra in the presence of the senior most Judge of the Supreme Court of India Hon’ble Mr. Justice Altamas Kabir, Mr. Salman Khursheed, Hon’ble Minister for Law and Justice, Government of India, Prof. N. R. Madhava Menon, Adv. Mr. Lalit Bhasin, Directors and Vice Chancellors of various law universities in India and members of the law faculty of various universities who were participants at the Annual Law Symposium on Judicial Accountability. Two of the faculty members Prof. Dr. M. R. K. Prasad and Ms. Ranjana Ferrao along with six students of the College participated in the Symposium and the Award Ceremony.

The Award citation recognized the pivotal role played by V. M. Salgaocar College of Law in imparting quality legal education in Goa. The citation also applauded the Institution’s role in effectively fulfilling its social responsibility towards the community. The research initiatives of the Institution through its research centre and collaborations with national and international NGO’s resulting in several publication and involvement of the students and faculty finds due mention in the citation. The system adopted by the college of having permanent legal aid cells in remote and poorer areas of the state and the students’ involvement has given the College a unique distinction both nationally and internationally, and is also mentioned.

The generosity of the Founder of the College Late Shri Vasudevrao Mahadevrao Salgaocar, the encouragement to the faculty by the President of the Board of Management Shri Shivanand V. Salgaocar and the leadership of the Principal is duly acknowledged in the citation.

This Award is not just a national recognition of the Institution but has brought pride and prestige to the state of Goa and the students of the Institution. This prestigious Award will enable the students who pass out from this Institution to secure placement with well-known law firms and senior advocates of the Supreme Court and High Courts.

Mr. Shivanand V. Salgaocar, President of the Governing Council of the College delivering the acceptance speech.

Mr Justice Altamas Kabir - Hon’ble Judge of the Supreme Court, Mr Justice Deepak Mishra - Hon’ble Chief Justice – High Court of Delhi, Mr Salman Khursheed - Hon’ble Minister for Law & Justice, Mr Lalit Bhasin - President ’Society of Indian Law firms’, Prof N.R. Madhava Menon - Chairman of the ‘Menon Institute of Legal Advocacy’, and other distinguished guests

I would like to begin by thanking Mr Lalit Bhasin, President of the ’Society of Indian Law firms’ and Prof. N.R. Madhava Menon, Chairman of the ‘Menon Institute of Legal Advocacy’ for conferring the prestigious ‘Institutional Excellence Award’ on the V.M. Salgaocar College of Law.

The College was founded by my father the late Mr. V. M. Salgaocar way back in the year 1973. Advancement of education was one of his priorities and today I am honored to receive this Award in his memory and on behalf of all our faculty and students who strive to make a positive contribution to our society.

In a country like ours, with a wide disparity of incomes, rampant poverty and illiteracy, access to justice still remains a challenge. The Legal Aid Society of the College was started in 1998, with the dual objective of providing free legal assistance to the general public while developing competent and socially sensitive legal professionals.

Today, the Legal Aid Society operates 38 permanent free Legal Aid Cells all over the State of Goa which work in collaboration with several NGOs, District and State Legal services Authorities, Government of Goa, Lions and Rotary Clubs and youth organizations. The cells are open to the general public and address the needs of local communities through permanent legal aid cells, free Para Legal services, legal awareness and driving legal reforms through research. In the recently enacted Goa Children’s Act, the college faculty was instrumental in conceptualizing and drafting the notion of a Children’s Court for the Act.

The Legal Aid cell also has a live client clinic, in which selected students represent real cases in the Consumer Forum – the Clinic is currently representing four cases in the District Forum.

I would once again like to thank the Organisers for acknowledging the performance and efforts of our students and faculty – this award stands as testimony to our commitment to serve, uplift and empower the general public. The Award motivates us to ensure that the College continues providing the best of education, abides by the highest of moral and ethical standards and empowers our students to become competent and socially relevant professionals in the legal field.

Thank you.

* * * * * * *